Launch of NASA’s DART asteroid mission may be visible from California and the Southwestern US


The launch of NASA’s Double Asteroid Redirection Test (DART) mission will be visible in the night sky over Southern California. Left: The SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket that will launch the DART mission stands on the launchpad at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California, on Nov. 23, 2021. (Image credit: Left: Bill Ingalls/NASA; Right: JHU-APL/Twitter)

If you live in California or the southwest United States, you might be in for a launch show Tuesday night (Nov. 23) local time.

The Double Asteroid Redirection Test (DART) is scheduled to launch no earlier than 10:20 p.m. PST (1:20 a.m. EST, or 0620 GMT on Nov. 24), on a quest to slightly alter the path of an asteroid moonlet to test planetary defense technologies. (Happily, there are no impending asteroid threats, but NASA still wants the practice for future-proofing.)





Original Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This

Help Us Out...

Share this post with your friends!